Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce Announces Small Business Hall of Fame, Ambassador of the Year, and Board of Directors for 2021

LORETTO, Tenn. – The Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce and its members assembled Thursday Night at Keestone at Village Point in Loretto for their 72nd Annual Membership Meeting. At the meeting, a local business was inducted into the Small Business Hall of Fame and a Chamber ambassador received Ambassador of the Year.   

WLX, celebrating its 40th year in business, was inducted to the Lawrence County Chamber’s Small Business Hall of Fame. Since 1981, WLX has provided the region with music, local news, and weather coverage. Under the ownership and direction of Roger Wright, the radio station has also been committed to giving back to the community through charity and public service efforts. The station, now combined with WDXE, charted the way in severe weather coverage by spearheading two doppler radar projects, in 1987 and 2020, and continues to innovate in digital broadcasting of weather and local sports events.  

Inductees into the Small Business Hall of Fame are recognized as successful small businesses that go above and beyond for its customers, the community, and improves the quality of life in Lawrence County.  

“In my travels, I understand that not every community has a radio station—especially one with the quality service that WLX provides to our region.  I am proud of all WLX has done and will continue to do in Lawrence County and congratulate Roger and his team for receiving this well-deserved honor,” stated Ryan Egly, Chamber President & CEO.

Jim Brewer was named the 2021 Ambassador of the Year. Brewer is a Lawrenceburg native and has been with J&M Tax and Accounting Services for 41 years. “I love working with the Chamber, officers, staff, and my fellow ambassadors. I am honored to be in your group. What the Chamber is doing in Lawrence County is amazing and I am humbled and honored to be a part of it,” said Brewer.

 The Chamber’s Ambassador of the Year recognizes the Chamber Ambassador that went above and beyond to support the business community by attending ribbon cuttings, Chamber coffees, and connecting them to Chamber resources through membership.

“I appreciate Jim’s volunteer spirit and his commitment to the Chamber through his support of member businesses and new member recruitment. He always comes with a positive character and champions our cause. I am proud to say congratulations to Jim on receiving this award,” said Beth Keaton, VP Community Development.

In addition to these awards, the Chamber announced its new slate of members for its Board of Directors.  The 2021-2022 Members include Mara Lerner, Chairman (Mad Hatter’s Party Wonderland), Cameron Hoffmeyer, Vice Chairman (Boston, Holt, & Durham, PPLC), Steve Hill, JECDB Chair (ReMax Pros), Chase Adkins, Treasurer (Sharp Transport, Inc.), Jason Shelton, Secretary (Loretto Telecom), Rachel Lee (David Crockett State Park), Kathy Mott (Advanced Design Solutions); Mark Jent (Modine Manufacturing Company), Nakia McFall (Lawrence County Farm Bureau), Adam Martin (Southern TN Regional Health Systems-Lawrenceburg), Ryan Evers (Evers Construction Company), and Anna Welsh(Mity Lite, Inc.).

Board Chairman Mara Lerner said, “I believe our community is ready for thoughtful and sustainable growth.  On behalf of the Board, we are well-equipped and prepared to support our Chamber’s efforts as we write another great chapter in Lawrence County’s history.”

About the Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce
The Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce is a network of businesses, industries, local governments, utilities, and private citizens that are committed to improving the quality of life in Lawrence County, Tennessee through economic development, community development, tourism marketing, and workforce development.

Ryan Egly | President & CEO
Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce
25 B Public Square, Lawrenceburg, TN 38464
o. (931) 762-4911