Local Government

Lawrence County is comprised of five governing jurisdictions: one county government and four municipal governments. The County is led by a Board of County Commissioners and various departments, including the County Executive’s Office. Consisting of eighteen members each elected to a four-year term, the Commission serves as the chief administrative and policy making body of Lawrence County Government. The County Executive is the chief executive officer of the county and is the highest elected official. The position also serves as the chief financial officer for the county as provided by law. Together, the County Commission and County Executive focus first on sound fiscal management to maintain an A+ credit rating. This not only distinguishes our county as one of the strongest counties in Tennessee, but also gives it the ability to make strategic investments in education, infrastructure, and economic development to continuously improve the quality of life for its citizens.

The municipal governments of Lawrence County include Lawrenceburg, Loretto, St. Joseph, and Ethridge. The City of Lawrenceburg is governed by a five-member Board of Mayor and Council, while Loretto, St. Joseph, and Ethridge governments are led by Boards of Mayor and Aldermen. Each city is dedicated to public safety, recreation, reliable utility service, and the sustainable planning required to enhance the business climate and quality of place for each city.

Information about our local governments can be found below:

State Government

Tennessee is one of the fastest growing, and most moved-to, states in the United States.  This is because we are the best fiscally managed state in the nation; our citizens carry one of the lowest tax burdens in the nation; and our business climate is second-to-none.  The Chamber partners with Tennessee State Government through its various departments and maintains relationships with leaders in all three branches of government to ensure Tennessee remains a great place to live and do business.